Doctoral Degree Programmes

The Second Faculty of Medicine offers 16 accredited doctoral study programmes without specializations, in Czech and English, in full-time and combined form (study requirements are identical), accredited in accordance with the requirements of the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic. The standard duration of study is four years.

  • Doctoral study programmes in biomedicine implemented between the Charles University and the Czech Academy of Sciences (see below)
  • Doctoral study programmes that are operated only at the Second Faculty of Medicine or in cooperation with individual faculties of Charles University (see below)

Under the links, you will find current and valid information about the requirements of the subject area boards, state doctoral examination (SDZ), dissertation, etc. For further questions, please contact the chairpersons of the individual subject area boards exclusively. (Warning: The information provided on the DSPB website is not updated in accordance with the current accreditation of individual doctoral study programs and faculty requirements.) 

* doctoral programmes associated to DSPB

Doctoral study programmes in biomedicine (DSPB)

DSPB are based on cooperation between Charles University and the Czech Academy of Sciences in the field of doctoral studies in biomedicine, which is regulated by the Agreement on Cooperation within Doctoral Study Programs concluded between Charles University and the Czech Academy of Sciences. At the same time, these study programs enable the concentrated use of the professional capacity of both institutions and the effective use of material resources of individual supervisoring workplaces. DSPB is governed by applicable legislation for University education. The mutual cooperation of the contracting parties is coordinated by the relevant vice-Rector authorized by the Rector of Charles University and a member of the Academic Council authorized by the President of the Czech Academy of Sciences. The activities of the DSPB are provided by the so-called Coordinating Board.

Information on the studies in a particular doctoral study programme/field in biomedicine may be obtained at the Department for PhD Study at the Second Faculty of Medicine. 

Coordination Board of DSPB

Doctoral studies in biology and medicine are co-ordinated by the Coordination Board of DSPB (Coornination Board); its members, appointed by the Rector of Charles University and President of the Czech Academy of Sciences, are chairmen of all SABs as well as some other persons suggested by the participating faculties, institutes of the Czech Academy of Sciences and possibly other authorities. Members of the Coordination Board elect a Presidium of 7-9 members, which in turn elects its chairman and vice-chairman. The chairman summons and directs sessions of the Coordination Board and acts as its representative in negotiations with the Rector Office of CU, authorities of the Czech Academy of Sciences, or possibly other authorities. The vice-chairman fully deputizes for the chairman during his/her absence. The term in office of the Coordinaton Board is five years.


Last update: 11. 1. 2024 / ThDr. Jitka Sýkorová, Ph.D.
Was this page useful?