

Eppendorf AG - D-22331 Hamburg

Prof. Vladimír Komárek Klinika dětské neurologie UK 2. LF a FN Motol V Úvalu 84 150 06 PRAHA 5 - MOTOL CZECH REPUBLIC Axel Jahns, Ph.D.

Head of eBusiness Phone: +49 40 538 01-546 Fax: +49 40 538 01-840

E-mail: jahns.a@eppendorf.de

Hamburg, September 2018

Eppendorf Award 2019 - Call for Entries!

Dear Prof. Komárek,

From October 1, 2018 until January 15, 2019, young researchers not older than 35 years, with an advanced degree, are invited to apply for the Eppendorf Award for Young European Investigators 2019. This award was established in 1995 and is presented in partnership with the scientific journal *Nature*. It acknowledges outstanding contributions to biomedical research in Europe based on methods of molecular biology, including novel analytical concepts.

The winner receives a **prize money of 20,000 EUR** and wide coverage of his/her research by *Nature* in print and online media, including a podcast. The Award prize ceremony takes place at the EMBL Advanced Training Centre in Heidelberg, Germany.

The independent Eppendorf Award Jury chaired by Prof. Reinhard Jahn (Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany) is especially looking for creative talents who work independently with a strong focus on translating their research into practical findings for human medicine. This year's winner was the immunologist Dr. Andrea Ablasser, Assistant Professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland.

You can help us **encourage young scientific talents in your institute** to apply for the Eppendorf Young Investigator Award 2019 by displaying the attached posters and by spreading the news.

Thank you and best regards,

Eppendorf AG

Axel Jahns, PhD Head of eBusiness Eppendorf AG

Eppendorf AG Barkhausenweg 1, 22339 Hamburg Postanschrift: 22331 Hamburg

Amtsgericht: Hamburg HRB 76249

Tel.: +49 (0)40. 538 01 0 Fax: +49 (0)40. 538 01 556 E-Mail: eppendorf@eppendorf.com

Vorstand: Thomas Bachmann (Vorsitzender) Detmar Ammermann (stellv. Vorsitzender) Eva van Pelt Dr. Wilhelm Plüster Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Philipp von Loeper